WhatsApp has clarified that the personal messages of users will remain private, though interactions with businesses might not have the same protections. Keep in mind that chatting with a business account on WhatsApp is optional.
“To give you enough time to review changes at your own pace and convenience, we’ve extended the effective date to May 15th. If you haven’t accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account,” WhatsApp said in the FAQ.
WhatsApp users who do not accept the policy by May 15 will not be able to read or send messages from the app. Further, users will be able to receive calls and notifications but only for a short time, after which WhatsApp’s policy related to inactive users will apply.
“To maintain security, limit data retention, and protect the privacy of our users, WhatsApp accounts are generally deleted after 120 days of inactivity. Inactivity means the user hasn’t connected to WhatsApp,” the policy read.
However, do keep in mind that once done, the message history associated with the account will be erased and the user will be removed from all their WhatsApp groups. WhatsApp backups will be deleted as well upon deleting WhatsApp account.
22/02/2021 06:31 PM